Solar Cooker Workshop in Ghana

12314096_1266701440022508_1389204057394891590_n

 

byย Paula Ann Winchester

I left the USA the day after Thanksgiving and landed in Accra, Ghana, at 8 pm the next day.ย  As hundreds of folks mobbed the baggage conveyor belt, I anxiously waited for my 100# of solar cooker equipment in two suitcases.ย  I believe my two suitcases were the last two to arrive.ย  What torture!

The workshop was held on December 1, 2015 at 10 am with 5 representatives from the Bremen Essiam village of 27,000, 3 highly educated representatives from small city of coastal Elmina, several men from the neighboring farming community, as well as, three men from the radio and television stations. My explanations were interpreted for the group by Jael, a very poised and helpful young lady.ย  I could immediately tell that those who just minutes before who were unsmiling and not comprehending began to warm up by hearing the information in their native tongue.

Earlier before we started, I had set out in the sun a silver pot with water, a black pot with same amount of water, and another black pot with water, but this time placedย  inside a turkey roasting bag and tied shut. During our discussion we moved from the shaded porch out into the sun to feel the difference in the pots to learn first-hand and very quickly which was the hottest. The black pot in the turkey roasting bag, gifted to my workshop by Liberty Bag Co. of California, was HANDS DOWN the hot HOT winner.

Afterwards I set up one solar cookit (from Solar Cookers International in Sacramento, CA) with 3 small stones.ย  I placed the water filled black pot wrapped in a turkey roasting bag on the stones in the solar cookit.ย  Inside was a WAPI, a tiny gadget that would indicate that the water (or milk) had reached a temperature high enough to pasteurize it, making it safe to drink. The 2nd solar cookit was set up in a similar manner but this black pot would cook rice.

Back to the shady porch.ย  We then had each person tell the group something they had learned. Questions were asked: can you fry with these? No.ย  How long will a solar cooker last?ย  The Cookit solar cooker will last only if you take very good care of it. What will we do with our silver shiny pots?ย  Paint them black on the outside top and bottom. Over and over we stressed that cooking with the sun, a FREE energy source, would save them money, improve their family’s health, save them time and worry, and preserve the environment.ย  You could see the wheels beginning to turn and their eyes beginning to glow.

Photos were taken. Snacks and cold drinking water was provided.ย  The men from the radio and tv stations interviewed participants. Two hours had quickly slipped by.ย  It was time to remove the hot black pots from the solar cookits and their bags.ย  Yes, the WAPI indicated that the water had gotten hot enough to pasteurized it.ย  But when I carefully opened the pot with the rice, did I feel their excitement explode.ย  They said, “a miracle had happened!” Bowls were filled with the rice for tasting and comments.ย  Needed salt. ย It wasn’t burned on the bottom, which happened in their pots on charcoal fires (did you know it takes 7 lbs. of wood to make 1 lb. of charcoal?).ย  I learned that ย Ghanaians prefer their rice cooked dryer that my ย performance produced that day. There was ecstasy in the air! A kind of giddiness of pure delight. It was very clear what they could do with a simple solar cooker made just of cardboard with a shiny surface.

By that afternoon, we were hearing from folks in Elmina of the “miracle that happened at the Davies Villa Resort” where the workshop had been held.ย  Grace, from the Bremen Essiam village of 27,000 and hand selected by the chief to attend, said she felt she had been to the university that day.

Before receiving their gift of a solar cooker, WAPI, two turkey roasting bags, black sock (for cooking corn on the cob), and a pair of scissors or a box cutter,ย  they each had to stand and pledge a commitment to teach others of what they had learned and to work to make more simple solar cookits for those thousands who were yet ignorant of this “miracle”.ย  Within days, the word had spread.ย  The news had travelled so fast that I thought surely drums must have been used to send out the message!ย  The need is so great…and they were ready to take on that responsibility and ownership.ย  I was just the spark that set their world on fire by using the FREE sunlight so abundant in equatorial Africa.

 

Paula Winchester Enterprises, LLC
pwe@paulawinchester.com

7 responses to “Solar Cooker Workshop in Ghana”

  1. There are many to thank for this workshop, especially Nana Akumanyii III, chief of the Bremen Essiam village in Ghana, Captain Benjamin Davies who coordinated the workshop, Solar Cookers International of Sacramento, CA, True Liberty Bags of CA, Roger Haines of Haines Solar Cookers in CA, and Stephen Pearson of SunLife in Accra, Ghana. There are many individuals who gave financial donations to make it possible for me to purchase so much equipment. Thanks to my sister, Rebecca Myers Watkins, who documented everything. And last but certainly not least: To all those wonderful participants that soaked in my information with enthusiasm and surprise!

    Like

  2. Please help spread the news about what others are doing to make a difference and encourage them to contact me with their stories. ricklobello@gmail.com

    Like

  3. If you wish to see more photos and have the Instagram app or willing to get it (FREE): put in
    becca_ photos to see many many photos and videos….the complete visual package.

    Like

  4. frankamoahneizer Avatar
    frankamoahneizer

    pls aunty puala how can I get more of the pictures and the ones in esiam village ghana

    Like

    1. can you download the Instagram app? If so, then put in becca_.photos and you will see photos and videos of the Bremen Essiam venture plus lots more.

      Like

  5. Rosaline Lapan Baker Avatar
    Rosaline Lapan Baker

    Wow!! That was exciting, something pretty new to me. I’m wondering how can I be involved in this sort of a natural-nature program to help those in my developed country- & other developed neighboring countries, which will save them time, money, preserve nature etc.

    I’m very, very excited & interested in such a natural Solar Cooker program, I’d like to share this information to others who have not heard or seen anything like this. How can I register into this?

    Do I have to attend any training in Solar Cooker? Also, could you please help and advise if I should purchase the Cookits to conduct any workshop? Looking forward to your response.

    Like

    1. Rosaline, thanks for your response. You did not mention in what country you live. Everything you would need to know is on the Solar Cookers International website (SCI)..www.solarcookers.org . Their headquarters are in Sacramento, CA. You can see the foldable cookit that I took with me weighing 2# and the template weighing #3. The template is heavier and gives you a pattern to make others. In Ghana they did not have the duct tape we use a lot in the USA, but they could put together pieces of cardboard with strips of cloth and cassava paste. The shiny surface they would have to purchase aluminium foil or reverse recyclable juice bags. Oh this website you can order many items. The Cookit comes with two “turkey roasting bags” and two pincher clothes pins. Depending on the quality of your water, the WAPI is a great device to use as well. I took 36 of them with me to Ghana. Also on this website is lots of information about solar cooking and a teacher’s manual. I downloaded it…57 pages long so be prepared. I read and read about solar cooking and even though I had a Cookit it was quite a different experience to teach in Ghana. Thank goodness I had an interpreter who was able to convey the information from me to them in their language. I could tell by the smiles and sparkle in the eyes that they were engaged. On their website you will see other solar cookers, cookbooks, etc. I believe that I opened their eyes to whole new way of thinking about energy usage. Ghanaians are industrious people, so I am hoping they can take their experience at the workshop to many other people
      They are used to cooking with charcoal (1# of charcoal means 7# of wood had to be used). By using a simple solar cooker they could benefit their health, their wealth and the environment. I think you must get at least one Cookit to try yourself. I recommend a black, thin walled pot and WAPI as well. So many people die from the parasites in the water or milk. The WAPI will show that the liquid has reached a certain temperature to kill the un-seeables. I am certainly eager to answer questions. Do your research and ask me more!.

      Like

Leave a comment